Race Committee

The rear commodore racing and a few Racing Members form the race committee; the Organising Authority under international rules responsible for promoting and management of yacht racing events at Brighton Marina Yacht Club.

We refer to our Race Committee as RaceComm:

Greg Driver  Rear-Commodore Racing
Matthew Holmes NHC Coordinator
Pip Tyler Club Class
Tim Spafford
Richard Burnett-Godfree
Eoin McPherson
Alyson Williams

The Race Committee is charged with organising and managing all aspects of Club racing and co-operative racing events with other clubs; scope includes:

  • Appointing Series Officers
  • Nominating Race Officers
  • Publishing Sailing instructions, Notices of Races, Safety Regulations, etc
  • Managing Time Correction Factors (TCF)
  • Racing Rules and Advice
  • Manage Protests and Requests for Redress
  • Manage Racing Assets

Other Racing Support Roles

Tim Spafford Cox (MV Admiral jack)
Malcolm Cook Boatman (MV Admiral Jack)
Kevin Ramsbottom Boatman/Cox (MV Admiral Jack)
Steve Trigwell Bosun